Jan. 07, 2004
Hill Auditorium reopens with vibrant look, updated features
EDITORS: Note special logistics for reporters and photographers
DATE: Jan. 8, 2004
EVENT: Hill Auditorium, cultural icon for both the University of Michigan and Ann Arbor, will reopen to the public at 1 p.m. with a welcome by President Mary Sue Coleman, remarks by project principals and a musical program by School of Music students.
Visitors will see that the paint scheme has been restored to the original Arts and Crafts period hues, a range of warm grays, blues, golds and deep red-browns. The restored lighting design, true to the original, accents the distinctive parabolic performance space. Features include a new lower lobby, renovated lobbies on the main, mezzanine and balcony levels, sound locks on all three floors, new seating, air conditioning, two elevators, increased restrooms, handicap access and seating areas and a concession area.
Following the program, the building will remain open, with docents available to provide information.
Hill Auditorium, designed by noted architect Albert Kahn and opened to the public in 1913, had not undergone a major renovation since 1949. The oldest and largest assembly hall on the University campus, Hill is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as a significant structure in the Central Campus Historic District.
Diane Brown, (734) 936-2323